Maha announces sports awards

first_imgMumbai, Feb 12 (PTI) The Maharashtra government today announced sports awards for the last three years, taking the total number of awardees to 195.State Governor C Vidyasagar Rao will distribute the awards at a function near the Gateway of India in south Mumbai on February 17, Sports Minister Vinod Tawde said.”The awards are for the years 2014-15, 2015-16 and 2016-17. The applications were sought in an online format and some rules have been improved for a better assessment,” the minister said.Ramesh Tawde, Dr Arun Datar, both from Pune, and Bibhishan Patil from Kolhapur have been selected for prestigious “Shiv Chhatrapati Rajya Krida Puraskar” for lifetime achievement for years 2014-15, 2015-16, and 2016-17, respectively, he said.The other awardess fall in different sports categories.”The sports activities also include indoor as well as outdoor games. The state government has also selected some sports enthusiasts who have worked for the promotion of the particular sports activity for several years,” Tawde said. PTI ND NSKlast_img read more